Home About Mark PeraWho Best Represents YOUR Democratic Values?Mark Pera in the NewsGet InvolvedContactUpdated Often - Mark Pera in the BlogsMultiMedia Contribute

Reform-minded city, state Democrats join to support Pera for Congress

For immediate release
Monday, December 3, 2007
Media contact: Patrick Corcoran (847) 687-7579

A trio of political mavericks - Chicago Aldermen Manuel "Manny" Flores, 1st Ward; Brendan Reilly, 42nd Ward; and Scott Waguespack, 32nd Ward - are supporting Democrat Mark Pera's bid for Congress by hosting an upcoming fund-raiser.

These three aldermen represent the changing face of Chicago politics. Each was elected to office on a pledge to bring transparent government to the City Council and they've fulfilled voters' expectations by delivering strong, independent voices to the council floor.

Joining Flores, Reilly and Waguespack in their efforts are state Sen. Dan Kotowski, D-33rd, Rep. John Fritchey, D-11th, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioner Debra Shore, Stephen Blandin, Emilia DiMenco, Amy Evans and Gail Morse.

All ten have signed on to host a fund-raising event for Pera at Cleo's on Thursday, Dec. 13 in Chicago. To learn more, or to RSVP for the event, click here.

Keep reading to learn more about the host committee members.

Illinois Sen. Dan Kotowski was elected to office last year in a district that had been Republican-controlled since 1860. The 33rd District includes portions of Chicago, Elk Grove, Niles, Park Ridge and Skokie.

Illinois Rep. John Fritchey is considered to be one of the more progressive members of the Illinois General Assembly. The 11th District, which Fritchey has represented since 1996, includes a large piece of Chicago's North Side.

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commission Debra Shore is an award-winning writer, the founder of Chicago Wilderness Magazine and a founding member of Friends of the Cook County Forest Preserves. The Metropolitan Water Reclamation District is responsible for treating wastewater and to managing storm water in an area that includes the five million residents and tens of thousands of businesses.

Chicago Ald. Manuel "Manny" Flores is currently serving his second term on the City Council. He defeated Jesse Granato, a Daley-backed incumbent, to win his seat in 2003. The 1st Ward includes Bucktown, East Village, Logan Square, Westown and Wicker Park.

Chicago Ald. Brendan Reilly won his seat in February by defeating longtime incumbent Burt Natarus. The 42nd Ward includes the Gold Coast, the Chicago Loop, River North and the Near North neighborhoods.

Chicago Ald. Scott Waguespack took office in May after defeating Daley appointee Ted Matlak during the February run-off election. His victory effectively ended a century of control of the ward by the Rostenkowski family and its surrogates. The 32nd Ward includes Bucktown, East Village, Goose Island, Hamlin Park, Lakeview, Lincoln Park, Roscoe Village, Ukrainian Village and Wicker Park.


Send Page To a Friend